Nueces County Texas, that is Corpus Christi; Bexar County, that is San Antonio; Harris County, that is Houston; and Fort Bend County, that is Sugarland, announced about one year ago that they will no longer prosecute some misdemeanor marijuana cases.
This change came after the legalization of hemp, and the difficulties in testing the amount of THC in hemp and marijuana.
Any Hemp product that has a concentration below 0.3-percent of THC, which is the ingredient that produces a high, is legal. However, Texas crime labs don’t currently have the equipment to determine the amount of THC in a substance.
Possession of up to four ounces under Texas marijuana law may result in a Class B or Class A misdemeanor. Conviction of a Class A misdemeanor may result in up to $4,000 in fines and up to 1 year in jail.
Obviously, this policy may change, based upon the changing of testing procedures and the availability of testing procedure for THC levels.